About SHBP

The Georgia Department of Community Health (DCH) is one of Georgia’s four health agencies serving the state’s growing population of almost 10 million people. Frank W. Berry serves as the Commissioner of DCH. 

The State Health Benefit Plan (SHBP) is a Division of DCH. It serves as the state’s administrator of health insurance coverage for State employees, Teachers, Public School employees, Retirees, and Former Employees, and Covered Dependents. Pursuant to 29 U.S.C § 1003(b), SHBP is a non-federal governmental self-insured plan, which is exempt from the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA).  

SHBP is led by Division Chief Jeff Rickman. It is composed of three units:

  • Third Party Administrators/Communications
  • Clinical, Quality and Outcomes
  • Eligibility and Benefits Administration

In addition, DCH is governed by a nine-person board, the Board of Community Health, appointed by the Governor. The Board meets regularly on the second Thursday of each month unless otherwise noted on the DCH website.